Indian Constitution Questions & Answers Set- 3-General Knowledge Questions and Answers

|   141850

                                     Indian Constitution Questions & Answers


1. Before the independence of India, Dadra and nagar haveli were under the administrative control of ?
A. English
B. French
C. Portuguese
D. Afgans
Ans: C


2. Who among the following was the first chief Justice of India  and assumed office on 26th Jan. 1950 ?
A. Meher Chand mahajan
B. Patanjali sastri
C. Harilal Kania
D. BK Mukherjea
Ans: C


3. Which Constitutional Article lays down the provision for a National Commission for SC and ST ?
(A) Article 337
(B) Article 334
(C) Article 338
(D) Article 339


4. Which community gets special provision for Central Services in Article 336 ?
(A) Sikh Community
(B) Muslim Community
(C) Hindu Community
(D) Anglo-Indian Community


5. National Commission for SC and ST shall be made by which constitutional institution ?
(A) Parliament
(B) Executive
(C) Judiciary
(D) State Legislature
Ans: A


6. Under Constitutional Article 343, which is the official language of the Union ?
(A) Urdu
(B) Hindi
(C) English
(D) b & c
Ans: D


7. Which Constitutional Article defines the Panchayat Raj ?
(A) 243O
(B) 243A
(C) 243
(D) 243I
Ans: C


8. Which Constitutional Article define `Municipalities' ?
(A) Article 243P
(B) Article 243Q
(C) Article 243T
(D) Article 343U
Ans: A


9. The Constitution of India, was drafted and enacted in which language ?
(A) Hindi
(B) English
(C) Tamil
(D) Telugu
Ans: B


10. Total No. of Schedule in Constitution of India is :
A. 22
B. 17
C. 97
D. 12
Ans: D


11. Constitution of India was enacted by the Constituent Assembly on:
A. 26 January 1950
B. 26 Nov. 1949
C. 20 Nov. 1950
D. 20 January 1949
Ans: B


12. Constitution of India came into effect on:
A. 26 January 1950
B. 26 Nov. 1949
C. 20 Nov. 1950
D. 20 January 1949
Ans: A


13. The Constitution declares India to be a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic, assuring its citizens of justice, equality, and liberty, and endeavours to promote fraternity among them. The words "socialist" and "secular" were added to the definition in year:
A. 1956
B. 1976
C. 1970
D. 1952
Ans: B


14. Total No. of six fundamental rights in Constitution of India is:
A. 12
B. 5
C. 6
D. 8
Ans: C (1.Right to equality 2.Right to freedom 3.Cultural and education rights 4.Constitutional remedies 5.Right for protection 6.Right to vote )


15. Indian Independence Act, passed by the British Parliament on:
A. 18 July 1947
B. 20 July 1947
C. 14 August 1947
D. 20 July 1946
Ans: A


16. Who represented Parsis Community in Constituent Assembly:
A. HP Modi
B. Frank Anthony
C. Kanaiyalal Munshi
D. James Franklin
Ans: B (Frank Anthony represented the Anglo-Indian community, and the Parsis were represented by H. P. Modi)


17. Who represented Parsis Community in Constituent Assembly:
A. HP Modi
B. Frank Anthony
C. Harendra Coomar Mookerjee
D. Benegal Narsing Rau
Ans: C (Frank Anthony represented the Anglo-Indian community, and the Parsis were represented by H. P. Modi while Harendra Coomar Mookerjee, a distinguished Christian who represented all Christians other than Anglo-Indians)


18. For the members of parliament in India, who determines the salaries and allowances from time to time ?
A. Union cabinet
B. Ministry of Parliament Affairs
C. Cabinet secretariat
D. Parliament by law
Ans: D


19. Who was the prime Minister of India when a Constitutional status for the Panchayati raj and urban self- governing institutions was accorded ?
A. Indira Gandhi
B. Rajeev Gandhi
C. PV Rarasimha Rao
D. Atal Bihari Vaipayee
Ans: C


20. In India when both Offices of President and Vice-President happen to be vacant simultaneously who will discharge the duties of the President ?
A. Prime Minister
B. Union Home Minister
C. Speaker of Lok sabha
D. Chief Justice of India
Ans: D


21. As per constitution of India, the Legislative assembly of a state consists of more than 500 and not less than 60 members, but which one of the following states has 32 Members ?
A. Delhi
B. Sikkim
C. Goa
D. Puducherry
Ans: B


22.In the union govt the council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the:
A. Prime Minister of Inida
B. Lok sabha
C. Lok sabha and Rajya Sabha
D. Union cabinet
Ans: B


23. Under whose direct supervision is the Lok sabha secretariat ?
A. Cabinet Secretary
B. Ministry of Parliament affairs
C. Speaker of Lok sabha
D. Prime Minister of India
Ans: C


24. How many members can be nominated to the rajya sabha by president of India ?
A. 10
B. 12
C. 14
D. 18
Ans: B


25. Who of the following is the chairman of the National Water resources council ?
A. Prime Minister of India
B. Union Minister of Water resources
C. Union minister of agriculture
D. Union Minister of earth sciences
Ans: A


26. Who is the chairmen of National Integration Council ?
A. President of India
B. Prime Minister of India
C. Minister of Minority affair
D. Chief Justice of India
Ans: B


27. Which one of the following dealt with the subject of Local self Government ?
A. Balwant rai Mehta Committee
B. Kothari Commission
C. Veerappa Moily Committee
D. Venkatachalam Commission
Ans: A


28. Which one of the following is not a fundamental right ?
A. Right against exploitation
B. Right to constitution remedies
C. Right to property
D. Cultural and educational rights
Ans: C


29. Which one is known as Lower House ?
A. Lok Sabha
B. Rajya sabha
C. Vidhan Sabha
D. Vidhan Parishad
Ans: A


30. Under the panchayati Raj system Gram sabha consist of ?
A. Elected executives of a village
B. Persons who is registered in the electoral rolls relating to a village
C. Elected executives of a village and officials nominated by him/Her
D. The village surpanch ad the persons nominated by him/Her.
Ans: B