States and Capitals of India-General Knowledge Questions and Answers

|   2854285

There are 28 states and 8 union territories in the country. Each state and union territory has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital.An administrative capital is one where all the offices of the executive government aresituated. A legislative capital is the one where the state assembly convenes. A judicial capital is the one where the territorial high courts are located. All the states and two union territories, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have anelected form of government and legislatures. They are headed by a Chief Minister who is elected for a term of five years. Other unionterritories are directly ruled by the Central government.

States and Capitals of India

Sr. NoStateCapital
1Andhra PradeshAmaravati
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar
9Himachal PradeshShimla
13Madhya PradeshBhopal
23Tamil NaduChennai
26Uttar PradeshLucknow
28West BengalKolkata

Union Territories and Capitals of India

In addition to the 28 states, India has 8 Union territories, each with its administrative structure and capital. The central government of India directly governs these Union territories. Let's explore these territories and their capitals.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands:

This Union territory is located in the Bay of Bengal and consists of islands. Its capital is Port Blair, a popular tourist destination known for its pristine beaches and historical significance.


It serves as the capital of two states, Punjab and Haryana, and is a Union territory. Chandigarh is renowned for its modern urban planning and architecture, designed by Le Corbusier.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman, and Diu:

This Union territory merges two former Portuguese territories, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Daman is the capital of this Union territory, known for its beaches and colonial heritage.


The capital of India, Delhi, is a Union territory with its own elected government. It is a bustling metropolis and a major political, cultural, and commercial hub.


Located in the Arabian Sea, Lakshadweep is a group of islands known for their pristine coral reefs and scenic beauty. The capital of Lakshadweep is Kavaratti.

Puducherry: Formerly known as Pondicherry, this Union territory is located on the southeastern coast of India. Puducherry (Pondicherry) is the capital and the largest city of this Union territory.


Situated in the northernmost region of India, Ladakh is known for its breathtaking landscapes, high-altitude deserts, and Buddhist monasteries. Leh is the capital of this Union territory.

Sr. NoUnion TerritoriesCapital
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
3Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
8Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)

State and Capital of India Map

India is a vast country with diverse cultures, languages, and geographical regions. There are 28 states in the Union and 8 Union Territories. Understanding the map of states and their respective capitals is crucial to grasp India's administrative and political structure.

Starting from the northernmost region, Jammu and Kashmir is a Union territory with two capitals: Jammu in the winter and Srinagar in the summer. Himachal Pradesh, nestled in the Himalayas, has its capital at Shimla, renowned for its colonial charm. Uttarakhand, another Himalayan state, has Dehradun as its capital, a popular gateway to the scenic hill stations of Mussoorie and Nainital.

Moving towards the northeastern part of India, Arunachal Pradesh has Itanagar as its capital. This state shares borders with Bhutan, Tibet, and Myanmar and is known for its breathtaking landscapes. Assam, located on the banks of the Brahmaputra River, has Dispur as its capital. Assam is famous for its tea gardens and wildlife sanctuaries.

Heading towards the eastern region, West Bengal, with its capital Kolkata, is known for its rich cultural heritage and intellectual legacy. Bihar, the birthplace of Lord Buddha, has Patna as its capital. Bihar is historically significant and houses numerous ancient sites and monuments. Odisha, known for its magnificent temples, has Bhubaneswar as its capital.

In central India, Madhya Pradesh, the heart of the country, has Bhopal as its capital. This state is home to UNESCO World Heritage sites like Khajuraho and Sanchi. Chhattisgarh, carved out of Madhya Pradesh, has Raipur as its capital. It is known for its tribal culture and natural beauty.

Moving towards the western region, Maharashtra, the financial capital of India, has Mumbai as its capital. Maharashtra is the home of Bollywood, the Indian film industry. Gujarat, the birthplace of Mahatma Gandhi, has Gandhinagar as its capital. The state is known for its vibrant culture and the Rann of Kutch.

Down south, Goa, a popular tourist destination, has Panaji as its capital. It is known for its beautiful beaches and Portuguese influence. Karnataka, with its capital Bengaluru, is a technology and innovation hub. It is known as the Silicon Valley of India. Kerala, famous for its backwaters and Ayurveda, has Thiruvananthapuram as its capital.

Tamil Nadu, located on the eastern coast, has Chennai as its capital. The state is known for its classical music, dance forms, and ancient temples. Telangana, a newly formed state, has Hyderabad as its capital. Hyderabad is known for its rich history, pearls, and the iconic Charminar.

The states are characterized by scenic beauty and cultural diversity in the northeastern region. Manipur, with its capital Imphal, is known for its rich heritage and picturesque landscapes. Meghalaya, the abode of clouds, has Shillong as its capital. It is known for its stunning waterfalls and living root bridges. Mizoram has Aizawl as its capital and is renowned for its lush green hills and vibrant tribal culture. With its capital Kohima, Nagaland is known for its distinct tribal traditions and the Hornbill Festival.

India's states and capitals showcase each region's incredible diversity and uniqueness. From the snow-capped Himalayas to the sun-kissed beaches, from bustling metropolises to tranquil villages, India's map of states and capitals unfolds a tapestry of history, culture, and natural beauty that captivates and fascinates all who explore it.

People also ask about state and capital in 2023

How many states are there in India?

There are 28 states in India.

How many Union territories are there in India?

As of 2023, there are 8 Union territories in India.

What is the capital of India?

The capital of India is New Delhi. It is located in the Union territory of Delhi.

Which state has the most populous capital in India?

Maharashtra has the most populous capital city in India, which is Mumbai.

Which state has the largest number of capitals?

Jammu and Kashmir is India's only state with two capitals: Jammu (winter capital) and Srinagar (summer capital).

Which state has the smallest capital in India?

Sikkim has the smallest capital in India, which is Gangtok.

Which state has the largest number of Union territories?

Delhi is a Union territory itself and serves as the capital of India. It also serves as the capital of two states, Punjab and Haryana, making it associated with most Union territories.

Which Union territory has the most islands?

Andaman and Nicobar Islands is the Union territory with the most islands, comprising a group of more than 500 islands.

Which state has the oldest capital in India?

Uttar Pradesh has one of the oldest capitals in India, Lucknow, with a rich historical and cultural heritage.

Which state has the newest capital in India?

Amaravati is the newest capital of Andhra Pradesh, established in 2017 to replace Hyderabad.