Indian Constitution Questions & Answers Set- 2-General Knowledge Questions and Answers

|   99258

                                   Indian Constitution Questions & Answers


1. First woman judge to be appointed to Supreme Court was:
(A) Rani Jethmalani
(B) Anna George Malhotra
(C) M. Fathima Beevi
(D) Leila Seth
Ans: C


2. Which of the following political parties was first de-recognized and later on again recognized as a National Party by Election Commission of India ?
(A) Communist Party of India
(B) Communist Party of India-Marxist
(C) Samajwadi Party
(D) Republican Party of India
Ans: B


3. Which one of the following pairs is not correctly matched:
STATE or UT  -----   Seat of High Court
A.. Uttarakhand  -- Nainital
B. Daman and Diu -- Ahmedabad
C. Arunachal Pradesh - Guwahati
D. Chhattisgarh - Bilaspur
Ans: B


4. 34. Right to property according to Constitution of India is a -
A. Fundamental Rights
B. Directive Principle
C. Legal Right
D. Social Right
Ans: C


5. Which of the following amendments in the Constitution of India are related with the institution of "Panchayat Raj"?
1. 106th
2.  100th
3.  73rd
4. 74th
A. Only 1
B. Only 2
C. Both 1 & 2
D. Both 3 & 4
Ans: D


6. The first Five-Year Plan in India was launched in the year?
A. 1951
B. 1947
C. 1948
D. 1949
Ans: A


7. Who is the Chief Law Officer of India ?
A. Secretary, Law Department
B. Attorney General
C. Advocate General
D. Solicitor General
Ans: B


8. Who prepared the first draft Constitution of India ?
(A) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(B) Gandhiji
(C) Advisory Branch of the Constituent Assembly
(D) Sardar Ballabh Bhai Patel
Ans: C


9. Who was the Chairman of the Draft Committee of the Constituent Assembly ?
(A) Dr. B. R. Ambedkar
(B) K. M. Munshi
(C) Jagjivan Ram
(D) None of the above
Ans: A


10. When did Constituent Assembly adopt a national Flag ?
(A) 22nd Aug. 1947
(B) 22nd July 1947
(C) 22nd Jan. 1947
(D) 22nd Oct. 1947
Ans: B


11. Who was the last British Governor General who addressed the Constituent Assembly ?
(A) Lord Attlee
(B) Lord Mount Batten
(C) Lord Bentick
(D) None of the above
Ans: B


12. When was the Constitution of India adopted by the Constituent Assembly ?
(A) 25th Nov. 1949
(B) 29th Nov. 1949
(C) 26th Nov. 1949
(D) 27th Nov. 1949
Ans: C


13. In the Parliament of India Upper House in known as ?
(A) Lok Sabha
(B) Rajya Sabha
(C) Council of States
(D) None of the above
Ans: B


14. In the National Flag, what does saffron colour represent ?
(A) Spirit of Renunciation
(B) Spirit of colours
(C) Spirit of Human nature
(D) None of the above
Ans: A


15. In the National Flag, which colour is used in the wheel ?
(A) Blue
(B) Navy Blue
(C) Red Green
(D) Green-White
Ans: B


16. Chief Election Commissioner of India holds office for a period of ?
A. six years
B. during the pleasure of the President
C. For six years or till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier
D. for five years or till the age of 60 years, whichever is earlier
Ans: C


17. The First Election Commissioner of India was
A. Dr.Nagendra Singh
B. S.P.Sen Verma
C. Sukumar Sen
D. K.V.K.Sundaram
Ans: C


18. The judge of the Supreme Court of India now retire at the age of
A. 62 years
B. 60 years
C. 65 years
D. 58 years
Ans: C


19. Which of the following bills cannot be introduced first in the Rajya Sabha?
A. Bill bringing a State under the President's rule
B. Money Bill
C. Bill pertaining to the removal of the President by impeachment
D. Bill proclaiming all the State of emergency arising out of war or external aggression.
Ans: B


20. The speaker of the Lok Sabha:
A. Has no right to vote
B. Votes like any other member of the Lok Sabha
C. Has two votes-one in ordinary course and another in case of tie
D. Votes only in case of tie
Ans: D


21. first state in India which was created on linguistic basis ?
A. Gujarat
B. Kerala
C. Haryana
D. Andhra Pradesh
Ans: D


22. During which Five Year Plan was Green Revolution initiated in India?
A. 5th
B. 6th
C. 4th
D. 3rd
Ans: B


23. Planing Commission is a -
A. Political body
B. Non-political body
C. Quasi-political body
D. Statutory body
Ans: C


24. National Development council was constituted on
A. August 16, 1950
B. April 1,1951
C. August 6, 1952
D. august 16, 1952
Ans: C


25. Which law officer shall have the right to speak in both the Houses of Parliament ?
(A) Solicitor General
(B) Advocate General
(C) Attorney General
(D) Legal Advisor
Ans: C


26. Which Article of the Constitution of India mentioned the posts of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha ?
(A) 90
(B) 89
(C) 93
(D) 94
Ans: B


27. In which session of Parliament, Railway and General Budgets are presented ?
(A) Monsoon session
(B) First session
(C) Winter session
(D) None of the above
Ans: B


28. Where wards Committees are found ?
(A) Gram Sabha
(B) Gram Panchayat
(C) Municipalities
(D) None of the above
Ans: C


29. Who has the Authority to approve President Rule in the state ?
(A) Parliament
(B) Lok Sabha
(C) State Legislature
(D) Council of State
Ans: A


30. Constitutionally, who has the power to make a law on the subject mentionable in the Union List :
(A) Lok Sabha
(B) Parliament
(C) Rajya Sabha
(D) Legislative Council
Ans: B


31. In the Union govt. the council of minister is collectively responsible to the:
A. President
B. Prime Minister
C. Lok sabha
D. Parliament
Ans: C


32. How many members are nominated to the Rajya-Sabha ?
A. 10
B. 12
C. 14
D. 15
Ans: B


33. The judges of the High court of a state are appointed by ?
A. President
B. Governor
C. Chief Justice of India
D. Vice-President
Ans: A


34. According to Which articles of the Indian Constitution is Hindi, In devnagari script the official language of  the Union ?
A. Article 243
B. Article 343
C. Article 223
D. Article 123
Ans: B


35. Which constitutional article provides personal immunity to the head of the states for his official act from legal action, including proceedings for contempt of Court ?
(A) Article 361
(B) Article 362
(C) Article 368
(D) Article 369
Ans: A


36. Under which Constitutional Article, Union Government has the power to give direction to the State Govt. regarding any of the provisions of the Constitution ?
(A) Article 368
(B) Article 362
(C) Article 365
(D) Article 367
Ans: C


37. What is the meaning of Foreign State as given in our Indian Constitution ?
(A) Federal State
(B) Commonwealth State
(C) Nation
(D) Any State other than India
Ans: D


38. Who decides allotment of symbols to Political Parties ?
(A) Political Party leader
(B) Political Party Governing Committees
(C) Election Committee of Political Party
(D) Election Commission
Ans: D


39. Who decides de-recognition of the Political Party solely on the basis of its performance at the election, e.g., bycotting of the election ?
(A) Supreme Court of India
(B) Election Commission
(C) High Court
(D) District Court
Ans: B


40. After declaration of financial emergency by the President, what is the period of operation without approval by the Parliament ?
(A) Three Months
(B) Four Months
(C) Two Months
(D) One Month
Ans: C