12 June Current Affairs

|   2603



  • 1991 Dili massacre
  • 1984 First salvage operation in space
  • 1966 First images of a Solar Eclipse taken from space




  • Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant resigns as Union Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises after his party exits NDA
  • Environment Ministry organising ‘Swachh – Nirmal Tat Abhiyaan’ cleanliness-cum-awareness drive in 50 beaches in 10 states from November 11 to 17
  • Himachal Pradesh: International Lavi fair being organised in Shimla district’s Rampur from November 11 to 14
  • Public Service Broadcasting Day will be celebrated on November 12
  • Birth anniversary of India’s first education minister Maulana Abul Kalam Azad celebrated as National Education Day on November 11
  • Former Chief Election Commissioner (1990-96) Tirunellai Narayanaiyer Seshan dies in Chennai at the age of 87




  • Industrial production contracts by 4.3% in September 2019
  • India-ASEAN Business Summit in New Delhi on November 11-12; theme: ‘Today, Tomorrow, Together’.




  • Mohammad Imran appointed as the new High Commissioner of Bangladesh to India
  • Dhaka Global Dialogue being organised in Bangladesh from November 11 to 13
  • Bolivia’s president Evo Morales resigns amid allegations of fraud in October 20 election; was in power since 2006
  • Spain’s governing Socialist Workers’ Party (PSOE) wins 120/350 seats in general elections




  • World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai: Sundar Singh Gurjar wins gold in men’s F46 javelin throw
  • Saurabh Chaudhary wins silver in men’s 10m air pistol event at Asian Championship in Doha
  • Purav Raja and Ramkumar Ramanathan win men’s doubles title at $54,160 Challenger tennis tournament in Kobe, Japan
  • Russia’s Sergey Karjakin and Armenia’s Levon Aronian finish joint first at Grand Chess Tour in Bucharest
  • Russia’s Sergey Karjakin and Armenia’s Levon Aronian finish joint first at Grand Chess Tour Superbet rapid and blitz chess championship in Bucharest
  • John Kipkorir Komen of Kenya (men’s) and Greece’s Eleftheria Petroulaki (women’s) win races at Athens Marathon